Always Free Shipping on all orders to US & Canada

Enjoy FREE standard shipping when you place your order online at quiksilver.com or place your order over the phone at 1-888-532-3130.

Valid for US and Canada delivery addresses; including Alaksa, Hawaii, USPS P.O. boxes, APO/FPO USPS Priority, and Canada via Purlotaror.

Learn More


30 Day Return Policy

Returns By Mail - Items purchsed online or by phone may be returned via mail within 30 days of purchase.

Returns In Store - Items purchased online or by phone may be returned at any Company Retail store located in the US.

Learn More

Country : US  ⌵
Language : English
  Cart 0
surf -

The Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta De Lobos Big Wave Invitational

THE WORLD’S BEST BIG WAVE RIDERS DESCEND ON CHILE FOR THE 2011 QUIKSILVER CEREMONIAL PUNTA DE LOBOS BIG WAVE INVITATIONAL PRESENTED BY SONY ERICSSON AND SUZUKI First Stop on the 2011 Big Wave World Tour Kicks Off with a $20,000 Prize Purse The Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta De Lobos Big Wave Invitational will commence this Spring with the world’s top big wave riders competing for a $20,000 prize purse during a contest window spanning April 1- May 31, 2011.  The first stop on the 2011 Big Wave World Tour, the Quiksilver Ceremonial is one of Chile’s most anticipated big wave events, with this year’s swell expected to reach gigantic conditions with a potential for 30 ft. waves and perfect tubes behind Punta de Lobos’ famous “morros.” “This being the third year of the Ceremonial as part of the Big Wave World Tour, expectations for some special waves are high on everyone's list,” said Gary Linden, Big Wave World Tour Director and Contest Director. “We have all seen the potential, and with the early season swell patterns so strong, we’re now just waiting for the elements to align.” The 2011 Quiksilver Ceremonial participants include: Jamie Sterling, Kohl Christensen, Anthony Taschnick, Carlos Burle, Marcos Monteiro, Peter Mel, Chris Bertish, Cristian Merello, Greg Long, Gabriel Villarán, Mark Healey, Kealii Mamala, Jaimie Mitchell, Danilo Couto, Sebastian De Romana, Rusty Long, Grant “Twiggy” Baker, Ramón Navarro, Diego Medina, Fernando Zegers, Reinaldo Ibarra, Matías López and León Vicuna. Past winners of the event include Christian Merello (2010) and Grant “Twiggy” Baker (2009). “I feel that this year’s event will be blessed with amazing waves, since we’ve already had four amazing south swells hit Pichilemu with perfect conditions and waves of 15 feet plus,” said Ramón Navarro, professional big wave rider and Punta de Lobos local. “These swells have groomed the sand on the point earlier than normal, so as it continues to settle, we’ll have perfect conditions. The waiting period has just begun, and we’re already seeing really strong weather activity around New Zealand - without high pressure systems to block it - which I love because it means it will be BIG in Chile.” The 2011 Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta de Lobos will be webcast live and hosted by Chad Wells & Strider Wasilewski at www.quiksilver-ceremonial.cl. Competition updates and information will be posted at www.quiksilver.com, www.facebook.com/Quiksilver and www.twitter.com/quiksilverusa. The 2011 Quiksilver Ceremonial Punta de Lobos would like to thank the sponsors who made this event possible, including Sony Ericsson, Suzuki, Corona and Carozzi.