Free Shipping on US Orders Over $65



ISA 2017 - Biarritz La Grande Plage

Welcome to the ISA World Surfing Games 2017 held at Biarritz La Grande Plage. From May 20th to 28th, up to 200 surfers from more than 40 nations will compete in the ISA’s Official Surfing Championships. Each team consists of six athletes: 4 men and 2 women. The Women’s Individual Competition will be held from Sunday, May 21st to Tuesday, May 23rd. The Men’s Individual Competition and Relay Competition will be held from Wednesday, May 23rd to Sunday, May 28th. The event will be an international display of high-performance surfing and a taste of what’s to come in the Olympic Games of Tokyo 2020. If you’re in the Biarritz area, come on down and watch — if not, we’ve got you covered with a webcast.

Watch the contest live !

About the ISA World Surfing Games

Ready. Set. Rip. It’s time for the 2017 ISA World Surfing Games in Biarritz, France. Quiksilver and Roxy are proud to support the Official Surfing Championships. With historic roots, this is the third time the ISA World Games will be held in France. Past runnings include Biarritz in 1980 and Lacanau in 1992. It also marks the 60th anniversary of surfing’s arrival in France. The event will be hosted by 3x World Champion Tom Curren, who has a deep relationship with the country.
In terms of format, six surfers will represent each of the 40 nations competing: four men and two women. Four titles will be awarded: Men’s Individual, Women’s Individual, National World Champion and Relay World Champion. It’ll all go down exclusively at one surf spot: Grande Plage Biarritz.
It kicks off on May 20th with an opening ceremony and parade of nations. Women’s Individual heats end on the 22nd with the finals and an award ceremony, while the rest of the divisions wrap up on May 28th with crownings and a closing ceremony. Gold, silver, bronze and copper medals will be awarded to the top individuals and countries. This international celebration of surfing will be a preview of the Olympic Games of surfing in Tokyo 2020. Don’t miss it!